Skip to main content
TNU

Need Help? Contact the Library

Storage Guide: Reusable Content: Citation Help

Contains resources for reusing and sharing throughout our LibGuides site.

Citation and Documentation Styles

Trevecca has three prilmary citation styles students should apply when writing research papers.  These styles are discipline specific. For specific tutorials and resources by citation style view the Documentation LibGuide.


APA (American Psychological Association) Style
  • Graduate Education
  • Undergraduate Education
  • Graduate Psychology
  • Undergraduate Psychology

 MLA (Modern Language Association) Style

  • Christian Ministry
  • MHR program
  • Undergraduate Humanities (English, Communication)
 
Chicago or Turabian Style
  • Graduate Religion
  • Undergraduate Religion

If your major or program of study is not on the list above, check with your professor to see what citation style is preferred.

Other Citation Tools on the Web

Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online provides guidelines and annotated lists of print and online resources for documenting sources in a variety of different fields.  If you have the book The Writer's Reference, this is the online companion.

Indiana University Writing Center & Libraries created quick guides for APA, Chicago, and MLA citation styles.

OWL [Online Writing Lab] at Purdue provides information on citation styles and documentation as well as research tips, grammar and mechanics and teaching writing.

Long Island University's Schwartz Library has color coded citation guides for APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian documentation styles.  

APA guide MLA guide, Chicago guide and Turabian

The Writing Center from University of Wisconsin Madison provides guides to the major styles.

APA Style, Chicago/Turabian Style and PDF Guide; MLA style

What is a Citation?

RefWorks - Your personal research library!

RefWorks is an online research/citation management tool that allows you to collect, store, and manage information into your own personal research library. RefWorks was formerly named Flow.

Some features of RefWorks:

  1. The "Save to RefWorks" bookmarklet captures metadata and full text from major databases and websites creating your own database of references and full text.
  2. Upload PDF format articles saved on your computer into RefWorks.  RefWorks will automatically enter as much citation information for those documents into your RefWorks library as can be detected.
  3. Export references from article databases and Websites.
  4. Use RefWork's built-in reader to peruse, highlight, and annotate your documents right in the browser window.
  5. Create draft bibliographies in your choice of citation style that can be edited in Word.
  6. RefWorks automatically detects your duplicate references and helps clean them up.
  7. Sync your RefWorks library with your Dropbox account.
  8. Use RefWorks in Google Scholar and Google Docs.
  9. Still using Mendeley, Zotero, or another reference manager? RefWorks imports existing libraries and full text documents with just a couple of clicks. Details on how import from other services can be found here.