Skip to main content
TNU

Need Help? Contact the Library

History: Home

Waggoner Library

WaggonerRotunda

Welcome to Waggoner Library’s Guide to History Resources

Use this guide to:

  • Find specialized history reference sources
  • Find books, in print and eBooks
  • Find scholarly journal articles
  • Find reliable, relevant Internet resources
  • Citation tools

Explore the tabs above, and please ask for help whenever you need it.

  

Catalog Search Box

History Resources in Waggoner Library

Waggoner Library has a strong collection of history resources. Our resources are accessible in several formats - print books and eBooks; specialized databases accessing scholarly journals and reference sources in print and online as well as reliable Internet sites. 

Reference Books

Some reference books are part of online collections such as Gale Virtual Reference. The OPAC has links to online resources as well as call numbers for print resources.  Some print reference titles that may be helpful include:

Encyclopedias
Annals of America Ref E 173 .A793
The Cambridge Ancient History Ref D 57.C252 V. 1-13
The Cambridge Medieval History Ref D 117 .C3 V. 1-9
The Cambridge Modern History Ref D 208 .C16 V. 1-13
Dictionary of American History Ref E 174 .D52 V. 108
Dictionary of Historic Documents Ref D 9 .K63

Statistical Works
European Historical Statistics 1750-1970 Ref HA 110 .M5
Historical Statistics of the U.S.: Colonial times to present Ref HA 202.H57
Timetables of History Ref D 11 .G78

Biographical
American National Biography Ref CT 213 .A68
Dictionary of National Biography Ref DA 28 .D47 V.1-22
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Biography Ref CT 103 .M27

Why Reference?

Reference sources provide background information, an overview of a topic, specialized vocabulary and terminology, and critical concepts. The Library has reference materials both online and in print.

Want more information? 

Contact the Reference Desk, first floor of Waggoner Library
Phone: 615.248.1570
Email: library@trevecca.edu or IM Chat with a librarian

 

Subject Guide

Andrea Fowler

Library Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.