Getting Started with Flow
- Current Flow users login in here.
Click here to access Flow to create your new account or log in.
From the Library's Homepage, click on 'RefWorks and Flow' under "What's New" in the middle of the page.
If you are setting up your Flow account from off-campus an access code is needed to authenticate you are a Trevecca user.
- Contact Waggoner library at 615-248-1570 or firstname.lastname@example.org for the access code.
- An option: Register your new account through the internet browsers within the Trevecca Network via Citrix to provide authentication without the access code.
Re: Internet Browsers
The Favorites bar [in IE] or the Bookmarks bar [in Firefox] must be viewable in order to take full advantage of Flow's features. Be sure they are enabled before you create your account.
Other Citation Tools on the Web
These websites give you guidelines and examples for citing all kinds of resources in varying citation styles such as APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian. MLA and APA have both gone through significant revisions with the publications of new editions. All sites listed below are utilizing the current revised editions unless otherwise noted.
Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online provides guidelines and annotated lists of print and online resources for documenting sources in a variety of different fields. If you have the book The Writer's Reference, this is the online companion.
Indiana University Writing Center & Libraries created quick guides for APA, Chicago, and MLA citation styles.
- APA Documentation, 6th Edition
- Chicago Style
- MLA 7th Edition
- How to Cite U.S. Gov't Documents
- Guide to Citing International Organization Publications
OWL [Online Writing Lab] at Purdue provides information on citation styles and documentation as well as research tips, grammar and mechanics and teaching writing.
Long Island University's Schwartz Library has color coded citation guides for APA and MLA documentation styles.
The Writing Center from University of Wisconsin Madison provides guides to the major styles but also has podcast introductions to
RefWorks becomes Flow
RefWorks, the online research/citation management tool that allows you to collect, store, and manage information will be migrating to a new platform called "Flow" during 2014.
Some features of Flow:
- The "Save to Flow" button captures metadata and full text from major databases and websites creating your own database of references and full text. Note: Currently a limited number of databases utilize the 'Save to Flow' feature. ProQuest and JSTOR are the two platforms Waggoner Library subscribes to that will 'Save to Flow'. More will be added during the migration this year.
- Upload PDF format articles saved on your computer into Flow. Flow will automatically enter as much citation information for those documents into your Flow library as can be detected.
- Export references from article databases and Websites.
- Use Flow's built-in reader to peruse, highlight, and annotate your documents right in the browser window.
- Create draft bibliographies in your choice of citation style that can be edited in Word.
- Flow automatically detects your duplicate references and helps clean them up.
- Sync your Flow library with your Dropbox account.
- Still using Mendeley, Zotero, RefWorks or another reference manager? Flow imports existing libraries and full text documents with just a couple of clicks.
As of Jan. 21, 2014 all new accounts will be created in Flow. Existing RefWorks accounts can be migrated into Flow.
- To create a Flow account begin here.
- RefWorks users who want to migrate to Flow follow instructions here.
Find out more about Flow from the Flow LibGuide.